Builds Cape Town Troop Carrier CTTC (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
1.jpg

On 2 February 2015 my husband Jan and I bought this beautiful Troopy as one of the last few to be imported new to South Africa. He is a 1HZ 4,2 and we dreamed and prayed about him for nearly four years. Our plan is to drive North through Africa, through the Middle East (if they will just stop fighting for a while!) to Europe. Then to ship to Canada, and run from North to South through the America's.

First we have to turn this car into the best overland vehicle suited for our needs. My research have led met to realize that there is not a single "perfect build plan". I design buildings for a living, and was surprised to see that the same criteria for house plans apply for overland vehicles :)

Mechanically, we will not be doing much to the car, as Toyota has pretty much figured that out without our help. We have only put in spacers for the back to correct the difference in wheel track (thank you Theo Marx).

9.jpg

On 24 November 2015 the day arrived that I witnessed Alu-cab cut open my car like a tin of tuna! Except for giving birth, definitely the most stressful day of my life!!!

20151221_154910.jpg

Now we have the best tent (imho) on this planet, and effectively leaves us with a double-decker house on wheels. We will be starting on the layout and installation of the cabinets and other goodies in the back shortly, so will keep you posted as we go along.

Great to be part of this exciting build, here in Cape Town.

What did you think of my thoughts on the cupboard being on the left instead of the right? What made you choose left?

Still trying to establish if Alu-Cab can fit a long enough roof replacement flip top tent on a 76 (as we are not finding any Troopies lying around just waiting to be bought at ridiculously low prices!

Please keep us informed as to the build.

Regards