1971 carb vacuum port connections... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a '71 fj40 with an '86 2f block. The carb is from '71 and has had a vacuum port added. The dizzy the from '86, so it is vacuum advance and has a high altitude compensator on it. The block has been desmogged as far as I can tell. Also running headers and the '82 2f intake manifold.

For starters I am just trying to figure out the vacuum ports on the carb, where they should connect to and why. Thanks in advance.

nfslzr.jpg

288qe6x.jpg

I have no idea why they go there but this is the way my 71 is set up and who knows it's probably wrong. A connects to B. For what reason I don't know I'm a carpenter that finds working on these s**t boxes relaxing. D is a port that was added to set the carb up for a vacum advance distributer. A mechanic showed me this 9 yrs ago on my sons 73. I have got no idea what E is for both the stock carb that I have that has been modified for vacum advance and the non USA that I am presently running do not have this. Is C where the vacum hose is suppose to go to the intake?

Buy the way our son and daughter got my wife and I to go to Breckinridge 2 years ago in Jan. and you live in one of the most beautiful places in the country.

Good Luck,
Tom

Here are some pics of my recently (by Jim C. )rebuilt 1971 carb.

Pic one shows what used to be a Throttle positioner/Choke breaker, (but is now only a choke breaker due to desmogging) vacuum line (updated from Jim C. post.)

Pic 2 shows the PCV hose connector

Pic 3 shows the nipple connection for the vacuum advance dizzy hose
carb1.jpg
carb2.jpg
carb3.jpg

Last edited:

My 71 looks a little different I think

3 of the lines go to this--do you have this?

course I'm not sure it's hooked up right---I think there is a schematic of the lines in the eng FSM if you check coolermans site