Yanmar 6lp (4 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I have this in the shop that I can pick up for very short money, I rebuild these things for a living so labor is good, I know parts can be expensive but we get discounts so not to bad.
I have looked to see if anyone has done this but a quick search did not find me much so does anyone have any insight?
Also what about finding the 1HD Toyota parts I need to make this work?

Any help is appreciated
IMG_20190926_102141.jpg
IMG_20190926_102156.jpg

Dare to be different! (Ill sell you a nice TD gear to go behind that....)

Dan

in all seriousness, I think it would be a great swap. I assume its a #3 bellhousing? Could probably use the same adapters as people doing the 4BT swaps are or build your own. It looks like you will have to move the Turbo and rework the manifold to clear the firewall though. Nothing that cant be fixed with a tig welder and some tubing..

That rear mount turbo is pretty interesting. What’s that used for? Gen setnor something? I wonder if the 1HD-T pump will swap on? That probably has a load based IP?

Also what about finding the 1HD Toyota parts I need to make this work?

Looks to be an HD-FT variant. The turbo mounted on the backside will need to be relocated. You will need to spend hours on TDIY researching part #'s to make it work. All new intake and exhaust manifolds, turbo, cooling, motor mounts (look to be in same location), injection pump (?), fuel lines, vacuum pump, etc, etc. Then wiring. Sh!t ton of work and time.

It might be cheaper to get an FT half-cut even if it was free.

Last edited:
That rear mount turbo is pretty interesting. What’s that used for? Gen setnor something? I wonder if the 1HD-T pump will swap on? That probably has a load based IP?