Which trans? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Long story short I am new to the cruiser thing, I've always had modified Jeep Cherokees (I know, bad word!) but now am the proud owner of two Cruisers! I have an '89 FJ62, and as of last night an 85 FJ60. The FJ60 is obviously a manual 4spd, but has an overdrive, question is what trans is this and what overdrive? Is this a factory setup? It is a shifter on the floor just in front of the 4spd shifter. Thanks in advance for any help answering this!

Transmission, if stock 4spd, is the H42.. There are multiple overdrive adapters out there but depending on when it was installed it could be a Downey or Marks Adapter.

Maybe a Fairey Overdrive?

image.jpeg
image.jpeg

Long story short I am new to the cruiser thing, I've always had modified Jeep Cherokees (I know, bad word!) but now am the proud owner of two Cruisers! I have an '89 FJ62, and as of last night an 85 FJ60. The FJ60 is obviously a manual 4spd, but has an overdrive, question is what trans is this and what overdrive? Is this a factory setup? It is a shifter on the floor just in front of the 4spd shifter. Thanks in advance for any help answering this!

what engine is in the 60 series? V-8? could be the adaptor gearbox from AA?
where in MT are you? you can check in here also
MT- 406 Cruisers

The engine is the stock 2F, everything about this thing is bone stock....except apparently an overdrive setup. I am over in Harrison.

Probably a Fairey, the one that replaces the back half of the split case transfer case. If it working, don't touch it. Parts are not available. Post some pics of the trans/transfer case and we can tell you for sure. A search for 'Fairey' will produce threads with the install documentation.

IMG_0035.JPG
Here is a pic from the rear looking forward, gigantic skid pan under trans and transfer making it hard to take any other pic