tundra 10,5 axle on a land cruiser 80 series (1 Viewer)

Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
312
Location
Venezuela
Nice Im using OEM axle housing.. i bougth spindle and hub from ruffstuff for 14bolts 6 lug , cutting 3/4 inch wider each side from stock 80
..

20221115_150802.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
256
Location
Colorado
Any updates on this? This is getting really interesting!
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
312
Location
Venezuela
Need work a lot on the latle, the inside diameter of the OEM housing tube, is Way to big for the ruff stuff spindler, so need to re-size the spindle, the hubs need to re-drill the lug to acomodate 12mm lug
 

EWheeler

4 Cruisers, No Garage !
GOLD Star
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
2,369
Location
Menifee, CA
Well ita done ... now.. need to measure axleshaft to make it....

View attachment 3221205

View attachment 3221207

View attachment 3221209
Rad. Any more details on how you installed the spindles into the factory housing?

Did you use any kind of alignment bar/pucks in the spindles and diff/housing to keep everything aligned when you welded it out?

The biggest downside the factory tundra axle is the width in my opinion. I have two, but still undecided how i am going to utilize them. By the time i build them out like @deadlew , im going to have way over $5k into factory housing mutant tundra axles. At that point, I’m just wasting money to keep a Toyota center section.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
3,447
Location
here
Not wasting money, the cost for parts has gone way up, a hybrid build is reasonable IMO and the specs on the 10.5 chunk are impressive so is the cost for lockers, axles, & brakes.
 

EWheeler

4 Cruisers, No Garage !
GOLD Star
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
2,369
Location
Menifee, CA
I have a new in the box ARB 10.5 locker… probably won’t use it at this point. If someone is interested, drop me a PM.
Sent you a PM earlier.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom