Tools needed to drop 86 4runner DS? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Well, for any of you who contributed to my recent flurry of 4runner questions, I appreciate it, and my search is over!

Now I have to get my new baby home.

I'm going to tow it on a dolly, rear wheels down. From what I understand, this involves dropping the rear driveshaft. Since I have a 3 hour drive to go get this bad boy, I really don't want to arrive without the right tools.

So can you help a brotha out? I'd also appreciate any tips you could give me to help me not screw this up.

Thanks guys!

Hey guys, it looks like I should just buy a metric socket set, with wrenches from 10mm to 17mm (for access issues).

I guess what's left is tips on the removal; things like keeping parts from rotating, etc. I'm new to the world of 4x4, so I'm still learning what all connects to what, and what I should be watching out for on this tow.

to drop my drive shaft on my 91 4runner all i need is two 14mm wrenches and maybe a hammer if the bolts are real stubborn, i believe they are the same bolt sizes

Two 14mm box wrenches. Usually you can get them lined up so a strong grip can squeeze them together. If they haven't been off before ... good luck. A little PB Blaster would probably help.

Two 14mm wrenches and a third wrench of similar size to use to add torque to one of the 14mm wrenches.

You can just remove it from the rear diff and tie it up to something.

yep two 14's and a 17 or 19 to use as a cheater wrench, plenty of pb blaster as well like pappy said.

Congrats, post some pics when you get her home!