Title question. Need help ASAP! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Guys - found my 80, but it's in Rhode Island and they don't issue titles!

I talked to PA DOT a couple years ago about registering and titling a car like this in PA and she told me I have to go before a judge and petition them. Has anyone done this?

Any help is appreciated. This thing will sell today for sure.

James

I have no specific experience with this BUT: maybe a Carfax would tell you if there's anything in records about the VIN, and then check Toyota owner's group with the VIN, like you're adding a new car to your account. It will tell you about service history which may hold clues. After that I would think it might need to pass the Enhanced Vehicle Inspection which they do for R titles. I'f its safe and not a cobbled together POS it should pass easily. If the thing about the judge is true and you've done all you could to investigate the history of the VIN I wouldn't see why a judge would say no. But maybe call this guy, he helped me out of some BS with PennDOT and apparently specializes in vehicle law.

http://www.legaldirectories.com/Leyder-Gary-L-282745-Atty.aspx

James,

A lot of New England states don't issue titles for older vehicles. They use a "transferable registration", in Pa it's as good as a title. I have never had any problem titling motorcycles in Pa with an out of state transferable registration.
Ask the seller if he has a transfersble reg. It will note this directly on the registration.

Thanks guys! Greg wish I already knew that. I may have missed out on this one by now. We'll see. Thanks again.

:bang:Guy just texted it doesn't say that anywhere on the reg. What the *#%^ is wrong with RI! :bang::mad:

NJ is even worse, without a title you cannot register. They do not take transferable registrations, even for trailers. I had to register my M416 in Maine which was very painless.