Slee AHC override install (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am not an electrician and I do not claim to be one but this may help someone. I also do not claim that this is the correct way but it has worked for me.

I could not find some answers to questions I had around the install of the AHC override so I decided to try and document my process.

Unplug the negative terminal to the battery.

Prior to soldering the connections and reassembling the dash, I recommend testing the unit.

Deciding on the 12v power source was probably the biggest decision you will have to make. I chose the accessory charger next to the cigarette lighter because it was easy to get to. To access, remove the lowest center dash section, unplug the white plug from the rear of the charger and cut the protective sleeve to expose the two wires (red/green=power white/black=ground). I soldered the connections, covered in heat shrink and taped them together. I used approximately 3 ft of wire so that I could have flexibility with mounting options. I also used a waterproof connection at the end of the supplied wires from slee for the power and ground. In the event I change the power source or need to perform maintenance on the unit, I can unplug it rather then cut the wires.
IMG_6205.JPG
IMG_6191.JPG

The AHC unit is above the gas pedal and is accessed by removing the plastic and metal dash from under the steering wheel. You will also need to pull the air duct out. When you find the red/yellow and red/white wires as instructed in the slee instructions you will want to cut them so that you have plenty of room to solder the override to each end of the cut wires. I chose to solder, heat shrink and tape these for a secure and safe connection.
IMG_6196.JPG
IMG_6195.JPG

placement of the switch:
I used a blank accessory switch panel to the left of the steering column.