Servicing Pinion (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The other day I heard a squeak, crawled underneath to give it all a shake and discovered an extremely worn pinion. Damn near 1/4" of play side to side.

Full float rear axle

I've removed the shafts and hubs off each side and plan to service the wheel bearings while I'm here, re grease should be all, they are tight and in great shape! Amazingly considering my lack of maintenance on them.

Now...to the pinion. I've never dealt with serving the third member and it's my first time ouylling one. I have it out of the axle housing now, all seams well in the housing and no noticable wear as of yet on the gears.

What parts will I need to service the pinion? Are there complete kits or will I have to get individual parts? Anything worth replacing while I'm this far into it anyways?
Bearings...seals...what else?

IMG_20190720_190344.jpg
IMG_20190720_190333.jpg
IMG_20190720_190320.jpg

This is the "nut" on the hub. No 54mm with locking tabs. Is this normal or a full float? Hj61 axle.
IMG_20190720_190316.jpg

0B44E1A3-D452-4F72-8CD3-DAF038C5535E.jpeg

Was there a retainer washer?

My ‘77 used a different setup.

View attachment 2035231

Was there a retainer washer?

My ‘77 used a different setup.

Ya I have the retainer, guess it is common. Just assumed it would have a locking nut like front axles.
Thanks!

You need to remove the carrier before you can remove the pinion. Loosen the bearing caps and remove the carrier. unbolt the pinion nut and the pinion will come out. Inspect the bearing surfaces for wear, If you are lucky you will have a solid pinion spacer in between the inner and outer bearing. I have seen some pinions with the spacer built into the pinion shaft itself. They are very strong.