Radiator Problem? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Popped the hood to do an oil change and was greeted with a pink surprise...

I’m a YouTube mechanic at best. What do y’all think? Leaking radiator or maybe just the cap? It’s a 2011 LX with 122k.
88CC2820-1CFC-4B94-8BDC-75BA9F606FD6.jpeg

02C889AA-B9C2-4A88-A72F-9F4805C81780.jpeg

And another one blows it top..........

122K....you drove 2K too far! :) Welcome to the club...yours was a little more dramatic than most.

Should prob change the water pump while you are at it.

Someone should condense the pertinent info in that thread down and any new users in the 200-section should get notified to read it. Basically every 200 in the US market is going to have this issue.

Someone should condense the pertinent info in that thread down and any new users in the 200-section should get notified to read it. Basically every 200 in the US market is going to have this issue.

Couldn't agreee more. That thread is too long and old at the beginning to be much help without a lot of time combing through it...it just so happens I have a lot of spare time at the moment (see: quarantine :bang: )and after reading through an uncomfortably long amount of it I propose the following synoposis:

-if you have a '08 thru at least '13 LC or LX your radiator is a ticking time bomb.
-Look for a raised part# stamp to the left of the radiator cap. A crack is seemingly inevitable to start at the bottom of that stamp.
-Radiator failure seems to happen more commonly after 8 or so years or 100k-130k mileage.
-Some have tried repairing or reinforcing the trouble area with varying degrees of success. I wasn't interested in this since mine already failed.
-If you're going to replace the radiator you may as well do the water pump, thermostat and heater T's while you're at it.