prarucu | 1999 LX 470 build/maintenance/etc log (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Figured it might be time to make a thread to document everything I've done (or want to do) with my 1999 Lexus LX 470. I’m probably not going to be doing anything too crazy, and this thread is mostly for my own notes, but of course I’d be happy to chat or answer any questions.

1694622705498.jpeg
1694622885025.jpeg
1694622979271.jpeg

Quick Links:
Priorities:
  1. Vehicle maintenance; I've been stranded once and don't want it to happen again, plus this is my only car
  2. Highway ride comfort; I'll be spending a lot of time on the highway going anywhere, so it better be comfy
  3. Interior livability; Ideally I could live in my vehicle at a campsite etc... for a few days
  4. Off-road protection; I'm new at this and don't really know what I'm doing, so I'd like to minimize any potential damage
Goals:
  1. Visit all 48 continental states and major natural parks/attractions
  2. Familiarize myself with vehicle ownership/maintenance (ideally, I'll learn how to do basic things myself)
  3. Familiarize myself with off-road techniques (recovery, field repairs, etc...)
  4. Keep this damn thing as long as I can
Oh and also, in case anyone’s curious about the vanity plates, the pirarucu/arapaima is my favorite fish.

With these out of the way, let's get into the thread!

Story: