Need opinions on rust!!! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I’ve come across a good deal on a 100 series, but it’s got some frame and slight body rust (pics attached). I’m new to the rust game and would like your opinion if it’s worth tackling the repair or not. Thank you in advance!

4D6AB772-DD95-416C-9ABC-4D4067A5FA0A.jpeg

0B2C6FD7-A3A7-4E3F-A370-02FC7F037A0D.jpeg

23CE3E67-B47C-4DDB-BC3C-02786B6A6A1D.jpeg

CD0A04ED-41CE-463D-BF44-4026BDF99E52.jpeg

F5F819D9-057F-4D11-9739-210C70BD6158.jpeg

They spray painted some of the more visible parts black so it has the appearance of being more rust free from a distance and to the unaware. Look at the bolt holding the rear lower control arm, it’s black. No oem bolt is painted black. Looks like they sprayed that and the entire bracket as well. I bet alot more parts were done in similar fashion, right over the flaky rust. I wouldn’t trust that.

Coming from someone who bought a slightly rusted lx from the north, i would skip this one.

Keep in mind, 170k mileage and a pristine interior. Thanks for your input so far!

B5A99DC6-97FD-4F00-8BCC-A7F76BEB14C0.jpeg

51E4ED94-F363-4D88-B5AF-A966D1B54C5D.jpeg

5F1A3A64-39B6-4BF2-8DF5-BF1960666873.jpeg

Nope.

It's eating the body. That tells me it's done a number on the frame and has spread up. You're in NC, there's no reason to settle for a truck with rust problems.

Now, if you're just going to beat on it and it's dirt cheap, then sure, go nuts. If you intend to keep it as your actual car, not just a toy, then I'd suggest a hard pass.

Thanks Mongoose. I figured with the 6k price tag it wasn’t a bad deal to jump on. It would be a daily that I would off-road occasionally, but it sounds like it’ll need more work than I’m able to commit to.