LX 570 HID Headlight retrofit (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys

I am new to the 200 series but I have been on IH8MUD for 10 years and own a pretty nice 97 40th Anniversary...

Anyway I just bought a 2011 LX 570 for the wife and am trying to figure out how to do a HID retrofit. The 570's prior to 2013 didnt come with HID headlights.

Has anyone on this forum dont this successfully? I did it on my 97 but I am certain the 2011 LX 570 is very different as it has AFS.

Your 2011 doesn't have HIDs? My 2010 does. It has a set of HIDs for low beam, and "normal" lights for high-beams. Are you referring to the high beams only?

I think you should start her truck up tonight and verify what lights she has before going about a retrofit. I don't think I've ever seen an LX570 with halogen low beams. I know that your DRL's are halogen and maybe that is leading you to believe the whole light unit is halogen?

I know for the Landcruiser what you said is correct: 2013+ come with standard HID's. And for the LX 2013+ adds LED DRL as opposed to the halogens of 2008-2011.

HID projectors werent added to the LX 570 until 2013.
Prior to that they all had Halogen Projectors. If you look at them they look like HID projectors but they are in fact halogen projects.

I know for the Landcruiser what you said is correct: 2013+ come with standard HID's. And for the LX 2013+ adds LED DRL as opposed to the halogens of 2008-2011.

Just to be clear:

On 2013 LC200's, ONLY the low beams (outboard pair) are HID's. The inboard pair are Halogens and do double duty as High Beam/DRL's. The LED arrays at the bottom of the headlamp assemblies are on only when the parking lights/headlights are on.

ToyotaLC200_1_21JAN13_zps684b1453.jpg

HTH

Just to be clear: