J10 Navigation problems (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi together,

I'm new to this board, so first of all I'd like to intorduce myself: my name is Dmitry (or Dimitry), born in Ukraine (former ex-Soviet Union), living in Germany. I'm driving the toyotas since 15 years - HJ60 (sold), K/LJ73 (broken apart), KDJ95 (current)
960.jpg

and now since couple of weeks I've became on owner of a HDJ100.
25152038_921300498046024_8292063882298267945_n.jpg

The J10 is in a good shape, has approx. 200TKm (125TMiles), with minor problems such as bit rusty frame, rusty tailgate and since couple of days - a non-working Navigation. In real life I'm a developer of navigation systems (f.ex. in modern BMW, Audi etc there some parts of my work) - so I can compare and know for sure, that the Navi in J10 is, let's say, "no more state of the art" :)
Nevertheless, I'd want the system to work properly now - even if i'm planning the conversion to non-Navi dash later.

Couple of weeks ago it was full functional, I was able to enter the address and start the guidance. Then I've seen some artifacts of the screen, as if the graphic card is faulty - but it continued to work properly. Artifacts disappeared, I drowe home and when I started the car next day - the navigation did not start anymore. If I press the three top left buttons (Voice, Dest, Menu) it just makes a beep and nothing happens. I've did a test with an engineering menu, soldered the pin 60 in the main unit, made a reset of the system - it doesn't help. The diag function shows that the navi has no problems,
20171210_140225.jpg

but if I go into the system menu and try to start the navigation test - it doesn't go into the test, just nothing happens. Same about nav-related functions in the Info menu - they exist (f.ex. maintenance, calender), but if I try to enter these - nothing happens.
20171210_140006.jpg