Internal fan and rear heater still operating after ignition off and key removed. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I am new to this forum and, though I am reasonably handy, I am new to vehicle diy in general, so please bear with me.

I have a 1999 Landcruiser Amazon. Right hand drive. Recently it has developed a problem whereby:

1. The fans (i.e. the warm/cold air blowers operated from the AC control unit) continue to operate even after the ignition has been switched on and the key removed. This is also true for the rear heater button on the same central panel (not the power heater, which is on a separate button to the right of the steering column near the driver door).
  2. The rear heater can also come on of its own accord. i.e. I park up and it is off, but when I return to the car the rear heater has switched itself off. Obviously my concern is the battery could drain and leave us stuck.
After some reading, I figure this is most likely to do with a faulty relay (perhaps due to the very wet weather we have been having). However, I am cannot figure out what part (or maybe parts) it would be that I would need to check/test/replace. I am not particularly electrically minded, so would prefer a 'swap it and see' approach if I can identify a likely culprit and the part is not too dear. If that seems impractical, then advice on the testing procedure in the most basic terms and with the most basic of tools would be appreciated.

I did also try the fault finding process (press AC and recirc button while switching on ignition). This resulted in the rear defogger button flashing orange (approx 1sec intervals) along with alternate flashing of the selector dial for the front windshield defogger (orange flash) and the speed selector dial for medium (green flash - i.e. one click up from Lo). I don't think I can attach a video, so apologies for this clunky explanation.