How bad is this? coolant leak (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I am new to the LC100 club. Bought my 02' LX470 last year (2022) in October with 172k miles. Just looking at the Carfax the previous owner performed all the manufacturer's recommended maintenance on schedule. I drove it around as my daily for a little under 1k miles till I noticed a sweet smell after a drive. After poking around, I figured out it was the water pump and took it to a Toyota mechanic to replace it (pretty normal as the last replacementwas at 90k miles). Everything was fine after that. Fast forward to recently (approx 180k miles), I noticed my coolant reservoir was below the "Low" mark. So I filled it up and also topped off the radiator. I have now driven about 500 miles since then and decided to check my fluids today and the reservoir is almost bone dry... this was concerning to me and also confusing. I had not smelt that sweet smell nor have noticed any coolant puddles. After some poking around I saw what is in the pictures. Im assuming this is where all my coolant has been going. It looks like a wad of bubble gum behind the engine. Is this a really bad sign or a costly repair? Is it something I could do myself (with minimal expertise)? What exactly is going on? Thanks in advance!

Screenshot_20231116-175905_Video Player.jpg

Screenshot_20231116-175915_Video Player.jpg

Screenshot_20231116-181628_Video Player.jpg

Screenshot_20231116-181730_Video Player.jpg

It looks like the pipe is leaking from the manifold, not sure if that is pressed in but you might have to pull intake manifold out.

:banana::banana: job, just labor intensive to remove the parts but very much doable.

Looks like a bolt is missing that holds the wiring harness loom on, unless you removed it for the pics.