General Question about HJ61 (Japanese Import) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello Everyone,

I am new to ih8mud forum, but I thought there is no better place to pose this question. I am considering purchasing a 1987 HJ61 Automatic Turbo Diesel with 130K miles that was imported from Japan, but has not yet been registered in the states. The truck looks to be in great condition with no rust on the undercarriage. The body looks good, but it has been repainted which may be a point of concern. The interior is not the greatest shape, but I am okay with that.

Question 1.) Are there any issues (engine, body, frame, drivetrain, etc) that I need to know about with regards to the HJ61?

Question 2.) Any words of wisdom with regards to registering an imported truck?

Thanks for the help!

Cheers!

Hummm....Well my thought on this thread would be as follows.

A. Who are you importing from and what is your feeling about them. I have personally meet Steve at Land Cruiser Direct in Ozark, MO and find him to be an outstanding importer and cruiserhead. He and his staff personally drive the cruiser for a couple months to look for problems before passing on to the customer. The other importers I know of haven't stated they do this.

B. Do you know Toyota and do you know turbo diesels? The trannys are the same in Japan as they are here. As for the frame, driveline and body they are relatively the same over here. The question might be do you know what to look for when you head dips below the rocker panel.

C. At 130k KM (roughly 80K miles) I don't think you have anything to worry about. Considering Japanese citizen (I assume it's from Japan) take really good care of their jidosha, you should be okay.

D. Hopefully others will chime in on their experience but rest assured you'll find an answer to a future questions here should you purchase that 61.

Last edited: