Front axle rebuild Fj60 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I just bought an 83 fj60 with a 3b diesel engine swapped into it in Kansas city about a month ago. On our first trip wheeling the master cylinder went out, and I ended up replacing both rotors, calipers, master cylinder and wheel bearings while in the woods. The PO had said the front end was completely rebuilt but it appears that wasn't the case. The wheel bearings seemed to be in good shape but everything else was shot. After doing all this I topped off the front diff and noticed it was quite low, possibly even empty, then I noticed on the drive back to kc that both front tires were covered in gear oil so I suspect bad axle seals. I've ordered a knuckle rebuild kit but I have no experience rebuilding them. Anyone around KC willing to help? Or know a decent cruiser mechanic close by?

It’s a well documented right of passage. I suggest getting a kit with wheel bearings from @cruiseroutfit or @orangefj45

I had zero experience on the front axle and I got it done.

Might as well do the brake rotors while you’re that far in. It can be done in 2 days with all the right parts on hand.

And get lots of rags. You’ll need them.

^ When you think you have enough rags stop, and then go and get lots and lots more rags.

I think the hardest part for me was not mixing up the housing shims. I loosely zip tied to them together and marked them in bags top, bottom.

I also did one side at a time Incase I needed to see what order things went in.