Family FJ62 Rejuvenation (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello All,

I've been a long-time lurker on mud, and it's time to dive in with a build thread. For an introduction, I'm Rowe, I'm from Alabama, and live in Bozeman now. I daily drove this cruiser for close to ten years, and now that I have a different daily, it's time to dig in and address some overdue maintenance and mechanical work. I'm not a mechanic, so I'm looking forward to learning as I go and giving this truck the refresh it deserves.

This Landcruiser started it's life in Tuscaloosa, where my dad bought it from the original owner in 1998. The truck has been in my family since then and was driven on and off by my dad and uncles before I eventually learned to drive in it, and it became my daily when I turned 16. I drove it through high school and college, until about 3 years ago, when I got a Tacoma to daily. A year ago, I moved to Bozeman, and in July shipped the cruiser out to join me.

That's the introduction and backstory, now for some pictures.

IMG_7456a.PNG

Me, my dad, and sister with the cruiser circa 2002.

IMG_7804.JPG

New bumpers fabricated by a local shop in Decatur in 2015.

IMG_3831.JPG

Hauling boats up from the Sipsey River.

LRG_DSC02719.JPG

Hauling bikes in the Tuskegee NF.

LRG_DSC00840.jpeg

A surprise snow day in Birmingham.

To be continued below with more photos....

I hit my photo limit, so I'm continuing here.

IMG_0316.JPG

At the Drive Thru Museum in Seale, Al, created by Butch Anthony. Worth a google or stopping by if you're in the area. I asked out my now fiancee on the drive home from this, so this is a special cruiser memory for me.

IMG_1603.jpg

Arriving at it's new home in Bozeman.

Screenshot 2023-02-13 195130.png

Carrying bikes to trailheads, what it does best.

Over the last few months, I've tackled a few maintenance items:
Fixed a broken mirror