EGR Desmog Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.aceoverland.com
I have a few terrible exhaust leaks I am trying to track down and eliminate. I am planning to remove my manifolds, have them resurfaced and replace gaskets. The PO did desmog the truck, but from what I can tell it was not done well or all the way. My question is, while I am working in this area, can I safely remove all these parts and plug appropriately? Or should I refinish/replace these parts and put back on? The smog pump sounds like it may have some bearings in there rattling, and I would like to replace that with an auxiliary pulley or something similar I have seen on a few LC parts websites.

I am an amateur mechanic, so any advice is appreciated! I may have labeled some things incorrectly.. so set me straight on what's what. Thanks!!

1984 FJ60

getting rid of the egr crap is one of the best things you can do.....putting hot exhaust gas back into the engine is just asking for issues.
getting rid of the weber would be your next greatest move.

Thanks Brian! Yes, the Weber will go eventually. I am leaning towards EFI swap. All in due time, but first the manifold issues.

I've ordered an EGR block off from TLC Performance as well as some plugs and such.

As far as replacing the smog pump with just a pulley - if I have Power Steering and AC, is there a specific pulley set up that I would need? I saw on TLC Perf that they offered a pulley, but is says "Air Pump Idler pulley, 81-87 2F with PS" but didn't mention AC.. so wanted to be sure.

You won't be sorry going with the TLC Performance smog pump delete setup. Did this on mine back in December and its working great. That setup allows you to easily delete the smog pump but offers the option of returning to stock with 0 fuss if you ever wanted to. Quality stuff and worth every penny. HTH.