1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clutch slave cylinder

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by mutt, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. mutt

    mutt

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Clutch slave cylinder blew out on me. :doh:
    After reviewing here I plan on replacing both the master and slave. Is this kit from CCOT what I should go with?
    http://coolfj40.stores.yahoo.net/clutmasslavc.html

    Who is CDan that I've seen referenced? Do they/he have a better kit?

    I'm not sure if my set-up is from the 1971 or the 77 part of it's life. It would seem it doesn't matter with the CCOT set-up. Currently my slave is on the drivers side if that helps.

    Here is a shot of my master cylinder. Don't have a pic of the slave.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. sepr2

    sepr2

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Location:
    Duluth Ga.
    Looks like a stock '71 set-up. Don't remember if I used CCOT master and slave but have used their brake master and wheel cylinders with no issues. That was before disk set-up...
     
  3. Coolerman

    Coolerman SILVER Star

    Messages:
    6,079
    Media:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    954
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Paint Lick, KY
    Yes that is a stock 71 clutch master. I bought that kit from CCOT for my 71 and it worked fine. Bolted right up and worked the first time.
     
  4. Hobbs

    Hobbs

    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Big Pine, CA.
    Hey mutt, please top-off your brake master cylinder....
     
  5. mutt

    mutt

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Thanks. That's an older pick. I did top it off but it's back down. :frown: I pulled the rears and they need a full rebuild. It's coming along. Alot of that thanks to everyone here!:cheers:

    Seems my master is original, but I've got the 1977 2F and 4 speed etc. Could that be a problem or will this kit work for that?
    Also is therea better one out there for the money?
     
  6. bandy rooster

    bandy rooster

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Sunny South
    hey bud, i noticed your in tallahassee, you should look into trail rides with us or even TLCA, and GSMTR meets... i can help you out getting parts for your truck if you need to..i can probably hook you up with some deals if need be ( i work at an auto parts store) check out our community at www.nfcruiserheads.org
     
  7. badass

    badass

    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  8. mutt

    mutt

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Thanks for the link. That is cheap. :eek: Was it in fact OEM when you got it?
    I didn't see a slave but the added shipping for different vendors might be worth the savings.

    I'm trying to call CCOT but can't get through. It doesn't say if the kit they have is OEM or aftermarket. I assume it's aftermarket at the price. If I already have a 71 master with a 77 slave, and they're plumbed up, do I really need the kit or just a 71 master and a 77 slave?
     
  9. Trollhole

    Trollhole THC Supporting Vendor Moderator

    Messages:
    20,590
    Media:
    79
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Location:
    Mauldin, SC
  10. Trollhole

    Trollhole THC Supporting Vendor Moderator

    Messages:
    20,590
    Media:
    79
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Location:
    Mauldin, SC
    http://www.aautopartstore.com/item....s/stores/servlet/imc/images/tn/3141060022.jpg

    Go with this one. Buy a few more parts and get it up to 75 dollars. It's free shipping then.

    Spend 23 more dollars and buy the 80-83 slave cylinder and let us know if it will work. I'm sure someone might know.

    Do you have a 4spd?
     
  11. sepr2

    sepr2

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Location:
    Duluth Ga.
    He said slave is on drivers side. Makes me think it is '71. No expert but know about mine. Not sure when they went to the other side. My '78 is on the other side?
     
  12. mutt

    mutt

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    You must need a good deal on an 80-83 slave when someone can't get it to work. ;p I think I'm going to go with the sure bet. I may get the master though and then find something else to bump it up.

    I do have a 4 speed.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  13. BloodyKnuckles

    BloodyKnuckles

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Location:
    Big Chicago, IL