Alternator Change in a 1988 FJ62 - Requesting Tips, Suggestions, How-to Videos, etc! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all! My alternator died on me recently. My replacement one is coming in soon and I'll be working on it this weekend. If anyone has any suggestions, tips, or an idea of the general difficulty of this task I'd greatly appreciate any help. I'm brand new to wrenching on cars in general, let alone Land Cruisers. I'll have help from some more car savvy buddies of mine, but they're still unfamiliar with these old trucks.

Thanks!

Its a bit buried in there. I would deff recommend removing the smog pump above it, cant imagine trying to wrestle it out of there without doing so. One tip I found helpful is that you can loosen the power steering reservoir to gain some clack/adjust some out once the alternator is in. Great opportunity to replace all three belts!

What alternator did you go with? Most aftermarket ones seem to last only a year or so. I did the 90a upgrade in order to retain a Denso alternator.

Heres a good link:
Changing Drive Belts on a 3FE Powered Toyota FJ80 Land Cruiser - Pacific Northwest Backroad Adventures

You pretty much have to take the smog pump and bracket off to get at the alternator. Check the condition of the belts while you're there and replace if they look marginal. Also, remove the electrical connections on alternator carefully and inspect their integrity.

Did you spend the money on a Mean Green? So worth it. I got so sick of rebuilds going bad. I must have put 4 in my truck in the last ten years. I'm like a NASCAR mechanic now with these things. This sounds much easier to do in 60. Sorry I have no tips for install.