4xFletch's FJ55 restoration "Moose" (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
It was a warm sunny late summer day and I happen to be the first to see that someone had posted an FJ55 needing a new home. I saw it was the next state over so I thought I should reply that I will take it and beg for forgiveness later with the wife. Guy responds to call him, wife says "Yes, you need to get her!"
Ok, I am getting ahead of myself. Since I am new to this thread, let me introduce myself: I am Scott and I am addicted to Land Cruisers. It started at age 7 or 8 when I got a Hot Wheels Land Cruiser. It was a red FJ40 with monster truck tires. I fell in love. It was my favorite toy car. In fact I still have it. Fast forward to high school. My Dad tells me that if I get "A's" in all my classes he would help me buy a car. I am sure he expected an expensive vehicle, but no, I wanted a 1970 FJ40 that was for sale in the local paper. I drove it, and it was perfect. I think we settled on $2400. It was hard to drive. It had a Muncie 4 speed and a corvette 327 in it. All my friends wanted to drive it. So I made a deal with them. If they could find reverse they could drive it. No one ever succeeded. I was very happy with the FJ40 and drove it for many years through college but always had wanted a FJ55. A couple a years ago I saw one at a Einstein bagels which rekindled my love. I told my wife that I intended to own one. She said, "they are so ugly, really....." To which I replied "how dare you!"
Years later after two FJ40's (70' and 77') 4 80 series (92, 93, 95 and current 97) and a 100 (2000 supercharged) I finally have one.
Ok, back to where I started. We decided that the coming Saturday was the day to pick her up. I rented a car hauler and drove, with the whole family in tow, the 5 hours south to southern Alabama to load her up. This is how she looked:
FJ55 First look.jpeg

And
IMG_0109.JPG