Yaesu 8900 extended transmit mod

Discussion in 'Electronic Toys' started by Azrocks, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    Yaesu 8800/8900 extended transmit mod

    OK, Please don't let this turn into a discussion of whether this is right or wrong. I just want to show what is involved in modding a Yaesu FT8900 for extended transmit. I believe the procedure is the same for the FT8800. I'll check.

    Click HERE for full instructions and pictures on the modification.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  2. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    .
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  3. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    .
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  4. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    .
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  5. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    I found this picture that shows the location on the FT8800 of the diode strip. It looks a little different than the 8900 but bascially the same.

    ft-8800-trx.jpg
    ft-8800-trx.jpg
     
  6. e9999

    e9999 You want to do what...? Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    15,308
    Location:
    PRK
    similar mod to that for the 7800 where you have to remove the "lower" resistor jumper (R1288).

    a bit confusing cuz 2 different documents show 2 different resistors locations but should perhaps be obvious when opened up... looks like there are some differences between the US and euro models too. caution required I think.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2008
  7. alvarorb

    alvarorb Color Geek in Charge

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Looks like the closest diode to the corner.
    Not too hard.

    Regards

    Alvaro
     
  8. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    Yup, that's the one.
     
  9. e9999

    e9999 You want to do what...? Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    15,308
    Location:
    PRK
    why do you keep on calling these things diodes?
     
  10. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    Because everything I've read call them diodes. They do look like resistors to me. I'll have to look at the schematics.
     
  11. _Walker_

    _Walker_

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    Victorihhhhhaaa
    you guys happy with the 8900? Im thinking of getting into radios etc, and have been looking at this fellow... good buy? It wont do air band or marine band will it?
     
  12. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    I really like the radio. There's probably a reason to question the practicality of FM 6 and 10 meter though. I got it to expand the usefulness of cross band repeat using 6 meter simplex.

    If you don't need the extra bands, I'd probably look at the 8800. Memory management on the 8800 is a little different than the 8900 as well.

    The dual receive is wonderfull. There is also a home channel scan that is really useful. With it I can monitor two channels on one side of the radio while scanning all frequencies on the other side.

    There is an AM receive mode that I use to scan aircraft frequencies. Along with every open repeater in AZ, I also have police, fire, fbi, fema, dps, some other public service freq, FRS, GMRS, aircraft, and some others. Like all HAM radios, it doesn't scan fast enough to be a super effective scanner. At some point I will get a dedicated scanner.

    Anyway, back to your original question. The 8900 is a great radio. For the price differential I felt it was worth getting the FM 6 and 10m. Go to Eham.net and look at the reviews of anything you might be interested in.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2008
  13. Pskhaat

    Pskhaat

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Morrison Formation
    Would you be willing to share the list? :)
     
  14. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    Sure! I can send either the excel spreadsheet or if you are using the same programing software and have the same radio I can send the direct programming file. Let me know.
     
  15. _Walker_

    _Walker_

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    Victorihhhhhaaa
    are there any simmilar radios that can both receive AND transmit on FM as well as AM? im looking for a unit I can use when wheeling, but also use for work (Airband)... and id rather not have to dish out for two radios...
     
  16. psfpilot

    psfpilot

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    766
    x2...is there a possibility of transmission and/or reception on UHF and VHF aviation bands with this mod?
     
  17. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    Couldn't tell you. Here's what the mod leaves you with on the FT8900. There may be more but this is what I'm sure of.

    TX: 28-29.7 / 50-54 / 144-148 / 150-170/ 430-470 MHz (USA)
    RX: 28-29.7 / 50-54 / 108-180 / 320-480 / 700-958 MHz (Cellular blocked in the US)

    TX: FM
    RX: AM/FM
     
  18. mrlocksmith

    mrlocksmith

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    I may be wrong but dont the AV bands use AM still, This is an FM radio

    Mark
     
  19. Azrocks

    Azrocks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Tucson / Vail, AZ
    There is an option in programming that allows reception of AM but it is FM transmit only. I can scan aircraft and DPS AM bands.
     
  20. nakman

    nakman addict. Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    Broomfield, Colorado
    This is cool stuff, thanks for posting that. I agree it's a good idea to have this capability some day, kind of like knowing CPR. I hope I never need either. ;)
     

Share This Page