If you could choose…. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So if you came across an 86 4R with no engine/transmission/transfer, but in kinda good shape for cheap. What would you do ?
But first some parameters-
  • I Have DD
  • I Have anFJ40-LS,SM465,Orion, ARB etc
  • I’m not a pro with a wrench or welder, but I did build the cruiser to what it is today.
  • Limited budget
  • I’d like something I can take to southern Utah and not worry about body damage.
The 40 does just fine in my desired environment, but as I progress in skill and confidence I wonder how far I want to push it. I wheel with rigs with longer wheelbases and wider track widths. I see the advantages. I don’t really want to take the cruiser to those dimensions. Plus the wife loves driving it as is.
So the way I see it it needs a drivetrain/sas. There’s a set of fj60 axles I could pick up for a reasonable price. I could pull the arb’s out of the 40. They have a nice track width. BUT then I have an offset rear pumpkin and need a matching xcase. There’s. A set of superduty tons, but I think they might be wider than I want.
While I don’t need another v8, the ls was a pretty cheap engine all said and done. And I’ve already done one. But I’m open to any economically priced drivetrain with enough torque to turn 37-40” tires.

So what would you do to this heartless runner?

Just do a simple Chevy 350. It's simple, powerful, and sounds great going down the road!

Pass on it and wait until something that fits the bill better pops up unless you really want a 4Runner. How’s the wiring? How’s the frame? What kind of budget are you thinking for this build? That all plays a factor too.

That’s a bit of a contradiction.