How would you build it ? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Guys I need some advice, I purchased a 1996 fzj to build so I can take my wife and three kids to our cabin in the winter. It will need good road manners for about 50 mi with some steep mountain grades . My driveway is the challenge ! I need it to go about 600 yards uphill with one switchback and about 1-11/2 ft of powder. It does have factory diff locks. I don't really need a rock buggy monster but I want the most performance from the platform that I can get. I would really like to hear you're suggestions. Thanks in advance

Service history?
217k, good shape fluides maintained by po, drives well , 165 lbs all cylinders, trans shifts good has clean ATF, never been off road in its life . I'm a diesel tech so I looked it over well . The closed knuckles are a little greasy but not dripping.. Tires dry rotted from sitting .

Including all that's been said, don't forget about the exhaust. If you slide off in a ditch or for whatever reason need to keep warm and stay inside the vehicle, negative fumage.

I ran Blizzaks in New England the whole time I lived there. Pretty amazing tires. Chains are always a good back up. I would agree that Blizzaks and chains would get you up the hill.

X2 on the tires and 4wd and any additional PM you think you need. Congrats on your purchase :clap:

yep. Good winter tires will get you there. Chains as a backup. If you know it's going to be deep, you may want to stop at the bottom of the driveway and air down the tires. For snow in the 1-2' range, the stock cruiser should plow through just fine, but I've always thought 255/85r16 would be a good size for snow duty because it will cut down to the road surface a little easier and also gives you a little more clearance under the axle than stock.