gearbox vibration (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I nave a navara 4x4 diesel turbo auto . Original g/box died at 309 km. As it was a lot cheaper I got a used replacement g/box.It had a vibration in 1st gear. Replaced under warranty, same vibration, replaced, 3RD g/box had same problem!!!
With the original g/box there was no vibration. Only since the replacement were fitted has there been a vibration. The vibration only occurs in 1st gear, and severity is directly proportional to acceleration. No vibration in 2nd ,3rd &4th gears. This happened in all 3 replacement gearboxes.
Does any one have any ideas?
icon9.gif

Full marks to "4X4 and Commercial Partsworld " for honouring the warranty.
icon14.gif

Im a gearbox mechanic apprentice and I replace clutches in the d40s all the time only ever seen Grinding knocking gears in a few my advise would be to get a heavy duty clutch fitted and rebuild the whole gearbox and transfer case maybe get sum aftermarket gears put in, there a terrible gear box my old man has a d40 and his clutch let go at 80000kms

Sorry mate I Thort it said manual not auto with the auto I would get it rebuilt with good quality parts upgrade the valve body get a transmission cooler and temp gauge put In good quality oil I'm from Australia and if u r I would go to wholesale automatics they will hav every thing u need

Check all your drive shaft u-joints and carrier bearing (if so equipped). From pulling all the drive line apart to remove the transmission I am making a guess that a u-joint cup that was worn is now rotated and wobbly. Or...if you have a two-piece driveshaft did the shaft get pulled apart and re-assembled out of phase?