EGR bypass question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am curious about the long term consequence of bypassing the EGR system but leaving everything in place while driving the truck. Specifically, I'd like to know people's thoughts on whether I run the risk of overly clogging, damaging, or otherwise mucking up the EGR if I leave it in place but bypass it and drive for several months. My plan is to keep all the smog gear operational and bring everything up to spec by going through the emissions manual, etc. However, I'd really like to tackle a few other things first if possible,and since I'm not a mechanic, there's a lot of learning I have to do for each project... Combine that with a 1 year old and my pace for getting things done is really slow.
So basically the question is: If my truck drives really well with the EGR bypassed like in the FSM, would it be stupid for me to drive like this for a couple months (let's say max 2,000 miles) while I tackle other stuff, or am I asking for trouble?

Disconnecting the EGR valve won't gunk up the valve because no exhaust is flowing through it. The engine will detonate (ping) though at higher rpms and light throttle. You may not hear it.
Use premium fuel.

Swap the inner vac hose on the distributor to the outer vacuum actuator, and plug the hose that you removed.
That will retard the vacuum advance timing from 16° to 6°. Maybe tweak up the mechanical advance a tad after that. (Advance the timing).

Not an ideal solution, and there is a very real risk of burning exhaust valves if the timing is too out of whack.

Thanks for the explanation. I should probably understand how to adjust the dizzy for normal operation before I go modding it to compensate for something else that I changed... I'm all for learning things the hard way but burning up valves seems like a pretty steep price to pay.