Differential and Transfer Oil - 06 LC (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Guys,

I have a 04 LC FSM and below is what I extracted from it. Doing the diff and transfer case oil service in few days. Hopefully torque specs are good for 06 as well. But let me know.

Transfer Case Protector - 3 Bolts - Torque: 28 N·m
75W-90 (Mobile 1 Synthetic)
1.3 Liters - 1.4 US Qts
Drain / Fill Plugs - Torque: 37 N·m

Differential
Drain / Fill Plugs - Torque: 49 N·m
80W-90 Hypoid (From Toyota)
Front: 1.70 Liters - 1.80 US Qts
Rear : 3.20 Liters - 3.38 US Qts

Washer x6: 12157-10010

From my '07 FSM:

Rear Diff, capacity 3.49 US Qts, torque drain and fill plugs to 36ft/lbs
Front Diff, capacity 1.8 US Qts, torque drain and fil plugs to 36ft/lbs
Transfer Case, capacity 1.4 US Qts, torque drain and fill plugs to 27ft/lbs

If you want to simplify things, I've been running 75W90 in all 3 for almost 10 years. YMMV

From my '07 FSM:

Rear Diff, capacity 3.49 US Qts, torque drain and fill plugs to 36ft/lbs
Front Diff, capacity 1.8 US Qts, torque drain and fil plugs to 36ft/lbs
Transfer Case, capacity 1.4 US Qts, torque drain and fill plugs to 27ft/lbs

If you want to simplify things, I've been running 75W90 in all 3 for almost 10 years. YMMV

I saw Hypoid 80W-90 at Toyota on my recent visit when i did a transmission flush. It is a bit expensive $19/Gallon but available and just need 5 Gallon approx. so planning to stay with it.

I think it is also API GL-5 compliant so does the Mobile 1 75W-90.

Try RedLine gear oil. The best oil in the market!

I am just wondering where did they came up with this name Hypoid!!! google says it has more anti-wear qualities.

I am just wondering where did they came up with this name Hypoid!!! google says it has more anti-wear qualities.

Additives to tolerate Extreme pressures. Most of the Redline stuff covers this, which like Nissanh stated, is why it's so good.