Brake Master Cylinder Not Releasing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone here at IH8MUD - newbie here to the site and to FJ40's.

I have a 1971 FJ40 with a 1F, 3 speed that is stock except it has had a disc brake conversion done by the previous owner. Due to the nasty brake fluid in the reservoirs, I did a complete tear down, cleaning and rebuild of the brake master cylinder. I also replaced brake lines and hoses to all 4 wheels and rebuilt the 4 rear wheel cylinders as well. I did not rebuild the front calipers as they looked good and functioned as desired. I have also installed a new brake booster and set the push rod with a brake booster rod adjustment tool. To make sure not to have any pressure on the piston when the brake pedal is released, I gave the rod a little extra room. The check / residual valve was removed for the front calipers and replaced for the rear as suggested when a front disc brake conversion is done.

Problem - As I drive the vehicle and use the brake pedal the calipers and rear wheel cylinders do not want to release. It seems with very light brake pressure things seem to work Ok. When I push the brake pedal further for harder stops all 4 wheels don't release. Then, as I use the brakes more the pedal becomes solid with very little travel and the vehicle comes to a very quick stop and the calipers and wheel cylinders stay engaged and will not release. I have removed the master cylinder from the brake booster when this happens and the piston is all the way against the snap ring, but the calipers and wheel cylinders will not release.

To release the calipers and wheel cylinders I crack the hard line at the master cylinder that go to the front calipers and when the fluid is released both front brake calipers and 4 rear cylinders release and the vehicle rolls free. This is the only what I can get the wheels free.