Brake Help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have been having a tough time with my brakes for the last 4 months and cannot figure it out. I have a brand new master cylinder from orielly but thought it was that and exchanged it for another one. But the problem still persists. The problem is that the brakes no matter what always have air in them I've bled them continuously with no solution and have tried many different methods. When driving around to test I have to pump once then I have great pressure and brakes work as they should. When brakes are hit I can hear the rear drum brakes hit which I assume is normal? No leaks anywhere and wheel cylinders were recently rebuild. Any suggestions on what to look for this is driving me nuts. 1978 FJ40

take a look at the rubber flex line from the frame to the axle. Have someone sit inside and press the brake pedal down and feel/watch the rubber line to see if it swells. You may have to replace it if there are small cracks or if it swells. That could be what is letting the air in. Also you could try to use a brake bleeder from phoenix systems and add fluid from the bottom up, causing any trapped air to be forced up through the master and out of the system.

Adjust your rear brake shoes.

Follow exactly the adjusting procedure that is contained in your Factory Service Manual (FSM).

You've bled enough.

Replaced the rubber axle hose and rebled but still no cigar have yet to adjust brakes because I know there is still air in the lines somehow. I did go out and buy a vacuum pump for the brakes but it is a suction type and still no avail. I still can't find any leaks did a triple check today. Brake fluid is coming out clean with very little particles. The driver side rear isn't shooting out as hard as the others though