FZJ80 Vs LX450 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

devo

SILVER Star
Threads
This is my first time to stray from the 40/60 tech forum to ask a question.

Are there any differences between an 80 and a 450 once the foofoo on the Lexus is stripped away.
Are the suspesions the same?
Do they come with factory diff locks?
Can you use 80 suspension/off road upgrade part on the 450?

I have a feeling these question have been visited before so thanks for your time.
devo

no
pretty much, the lx has softer springs
yes - well, some do
absolutely

Devo,

There are minor electrical, body, badging, and shock differences.

The LX has side and rear plastic body cladding.
The LX has body colored mud flaps.
The LX has different shaped headlights and front grille.
The LX has clear side marker lenses.
The LX came with a different sound system that has the sub in the console and a 6 disc CD.
The LX does not have a rear sub-woofer so the right cargo area panel is different.
The LX does not have speakers above the 3rd row seats.
The LX speakers are made by Pioneer. 2nd row speakers & speaker grills are larger.
The LX has various Lexus badges (front, rear, engine, steering wheel, and others).
The LX has different alloy wheels and center caps.
The LX has softer shocks.
The LX was equipped with the Auto climate control that was avail in '97 40th and CE models.
The LX, reportedly, has a higher quality leather.
The LX uses different FSM and EWD manuals and may have different colored wires so it's a good idea to use the appropriate manuals if you are a DIY guy.
Some of the LX interior brackets are painted different colors than the corresponding bracket on the LC.
The LX windshield tint is bronze and the LC tint is blue. (Per NorCalDug 14.May.2004)

The LX has built-in cell phone (Optional & '96 technology)