1st 2M Radio Advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
First, this group has been a wealth of information in helping me make the decision to upgrade from CB to a real means of reliable communications. Now that I have made that decision I need the groups help picking a radio. I am leaning towards the Yaesu FT-7800 for its reviews here and elsewhere. Is this a decent radio? From what I have read it appears that the Yaesu radios are a bit more user friendly as far a programing than the Icoms. I was also looking at the Icom V8000. I am a complete novice and want a radio that will serve me well into the future and won't require an MIT Grad to program... I am open to all suggestions.

A quick search will turn up several threads about the different 2m mobile radios...most within a couple pages of your thread.

First radio should be a handheld. Learned that in class at ARRL and it's true. For better reception get an antenna for your car. You should be able to hit just about any repeater in your area. I can in CT.

Go for feel and user friendlyness to you. Everybody is different. If there is no ham store in your area, there is in Newington CT. PM me for address if you want. Guys go to Lentini's from NY all the time.

We made a J pole antenna in class and use it on the house. Copper tubing, solder, cheap. Barely noticable.

Good rainy day Saturday trip. Go to ARRL Headquarters in Newington,call before you go, Same site is W1AW flagship station, very cool, always manned by someone as far as I know. If you want to see some EQUIPMENT stop by W1AW. Five minutes away is Lentini"s and you can pick up your new radio.:)

Newington is 15 min. SW of Htfd.

p.s. If you are licensed you can operate W1AW

First radio should be a handheld. .