YEA ME! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
After using this site many times I have created an account - yea me!!!! Hello!

I have a 1985 4runner all stock sorta and I am about done doing to it what I wanted to. Front seats are from SR5, CB added, and in process changing auto to 5spd as we speak. I am waiting on a few parts before I attempt the reinstall. I have never done this before so we will see how it goes. I have sourced a manual w56 tranny (87), a gear type tcase (87), Master Cylinder, Slave, hydraulic lines, hopefully the correct length drive shafts, and clutch assembly.

I am waiting on a gasket for the tcase/tranny. I ordered a new fork, new shift dust boots, new fork boot, and fork retainer clips. Looks like I will have to do some cutting for the gear shifting, cut out plastic frame that used to go around auto shifter, and seems the console will work but need to find the shorter part that houses the buttons for rear window and wipers. Should be ready to start by next Monday.

Here are some pictures...

IMG_2136.JPG

IMG_2138.JPG

IMG_2140.JPG

IMG_2119.JPG

Here are some pictures of the swap going on as we speak... The tcase has been cleaned up since this picture has been taken. The tranny and bell housing were equally gunked up before cleaning as were all the other stuff like drive shafts, cross member, and transfer case bracket. All clean now!!

Bye Bye Auto Trans :)

IMG_2240.JPG

IMG_2375.JPG

IMG_2376.JPG

IMG_2377.JPG

IMG_2250.JPG

I think I got the basics understood about the swap! The biggest pain I think will be routing the hard line for Master to Slave and attaching to firewall, followed closely ( in terms of being a pain) drilling fire wall to set new brake assembly/master cylinder.

However, I do have some questions if anyone wants to start the conversation. I am searching to understand this idea better but any input would be appreciated.