Rough Idle Crap

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by hygge, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    After having recently installed a number of things, I am trying to diagnose what the F is up with my FJ62 truck.

    First, what I have done recently.

    Over the last two months the truck was out of commission. I replaced the side cover gasket ( which meant that I took out the distributor, air intake.

    I replaced the fuel filter.

    Then since, I was at it, I changed the oil pan gasket.

    I also replaced the Exhaust ( and Intake) Manifold Gaskets. To get to these, I had to take off the Air Plenum/Throttle Body and the injectors.

    During this time, I decided to have the fuel injectors and cold start injector's cleaned by Witch Hunter Performance.

    I decided to replace all of the old vacuum hoses too, cause why not.

    When I put everything back together, I was very careful to put the distributor back in exactly as I had taken it out ( I took lots of pictures and marked both the distributor cap and the rotor.

    Now after all of my hard work, I am having trouble with the truck running.

    I can drive it down the street and I went to the market over the weekend. But when I hit a stop sign or a long red light, the truck stalls or it idles really really rough.

    See videos below:




    I've read about resetting the ECM. Is the ECM the same as an ECU?

    From what I gather you pull the fuse out for 15 seconds to a minute. I also read that disconnecting the battery will also reset the ECU. I've taken the fuse out for 10 minutes. And I still get this crappy idle.

    There are no check engine lights.

    Also, when I put the car into Park ( which is what I am doing at stop lights), the engine idles at around 1,000 RPM, but if I stop the truck and keep it in drive it hovers around 500-800 rpm.

    So Mudders - What am I doing wrong?

    1. Its ECM/ECU issue?

    2. Distributor and timing is off?

    3. Something else...

    Before I did all of this crap to the truck, it was actually working just fine. I had taken it into Mudrak and had them give me a list of maintenance repairs. Being overly ambitious, I decided that I wanted to take on all the work and not have Mudrak do it for me.

    Any help would be awesome!!

    Thank you!

    Sawdust's Overlord
     
  2. Seth_O

    Seth_O

    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    860
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Under the hood
    How much driving have you done since resetting the ECM? On my wifes sequoia I have to drive both street and freeway, probably 15-30mins for the ECU to relearn the map. Until I do it will die at stop signs and idle really low.

    Have you checked vacuum? It could be a vacuum leak.
     
  3. portlandcruiser

    portlandcruiser

    Messages:
    74
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    164
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Location:
    Portland
    No advice, but I’m going to follow. I havevrough idle and low vaccine issues with my 62.
     
  4. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    I have driven it to the grocery store, so not more than a 15 minute drive, but with weekend traffic, there were a good 6-8 stop lights that I hit. But no, have not taken it to freeway speed yet or driven for a solid 15 minutes or longer. Only around my neighborhood and the store.

    I've checked all the vacuum hoses that I replaced (they look damn sexy), but I don't see any falling off or pinched. Could be worth a third look.

    Thanks for the advice of driving around for the ECM to reset. I don't know if its an hour of driving or 10 minutes for the truck to get reacclimatized.
     
  5. AussieHJCruza

    AussieHJCruza

    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    349
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Sounds vacuum leak-ish to me too - the air intake hose from the airbox isn't cracked or something is it?
     
  6. morganism

    morganism SunkCostFallacy

    Messages:
    711
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Verde Valley, AZ
  7. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    The EGR does not appear to be stuck open, but that is an interesting thing to look at.

    Did FJ62's have readiness monitor? I did look it up but did not find anything.

    The link you gave is for 1996 and later, but that's not applicable to a 1989.

    Thanks for the thoughts!
     
    NeverGiveUpYota likes this.
  8. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    I went with a fine tooth over all my vacuum hoses and air intake. The Air Breather hose #2 that connects to the throttle body was replaced three months ago. When I reinstalled the air intake, I made sure that everything was on tight.

    Only thing I can think of is leaks in the Intake Manifold - I recently replaced the gasket ( when I was replacing the exhaust manifold gasket). Everything is torqued down fairly solid, so this should not be the issue.
     
  9. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    I have rechecked the vacuum hoses, they are all on rock solid and they are all brand new, since I replaced with silicone from Boost Controller two weeks ago.

    I drove the truck on the freeway about 20 miles and on the city streets for an hour. Its still stalling if I hit a red light.

    On the freedway it is taking longer to get up to speed. I tried to go up a steep hill and the speed went down to 10mph. I was fairly surprised.

    Seems to cruise once up to speed, but its the getting up to speed that is taking longer than before I did all of these "improvements".
     
  10. Rustic76

    Rustic76 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    647
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    848
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    Camas, WA/Portland
    Have you put a vacuum gauge on it yet and checked to see what kind of vacuum numbers you have. Could help rule out a vacuum leak somewhere.

    Also, did you recheck the timing after you reseated the dizzy?

    I had a similar episode one time in my 60 when I replaced all my vacuum lines. It seemed to run fine but would want to stall out when I came to a stop. I swapped around the purge and tank lines on the charcoal canister and it solved the issue.
     
    hygge and Hojack like this.
  11. Hojack

    Hojack Foothills of the Cascades

    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    962
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Location:
    Eagle Creek, Oregon
    Try using a propane torch. Use only the gas (no ingnition) around the vacuume line while the engine is idling. The motor should smooth out when you’ve found the leak.
     
    hygge likes this.
  12. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    This sounds like an interesting way to take a look at potential leaks. I watched Ericthecarguy's video and it seems pretty straightforward. I'll check this out this weekend.

    It would make sense that its a vacuum leak since I did replace the intake manifold gasket AND all the vacuum hoses.

    Thanks !
     
  13. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA

    Did not recheck the timing after resetting the dizzy. I'll have to figure out how to do that - never done it before.

    Also, don't have a vacuum gauge and never used one before - but sounds like that could be helpful for this particular issue and future diagnosis.

    Thank you for the suggestions!
     
  14. Rustic76

    Rustic76 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    647
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    848
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    Camas, WA/Portland
    Go out and get a timing light and vacuum gauge. Both are cheap and very necessary to have around the shop.
     
    hygge, NeverGiveUpYota and Hojack like this.
  15. NeverGiveUpYota

    NeverGiveUpYota Dare me. SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,647
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Location:
    East Hampton, CT
    Innova timing light w/ digital readout on Amazon about $70. Vac gauge is about $20.
    You can hit the manifold gasket mating surface w/ small spritzs of carb spray (same as propane) and if RPMs rise and settle you’ve found your leak. Stay away from distributor area.
     
  16. morganism

    morganism SunkCostFallacy

    Messages:
    711
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Verde Valley, AZ
    Did you disconnect the brake booster hose when you did the exhaust? Major vac there.

    Voltage looks low on the dash picture too. Did you replace the block to firewall ground ?

    Still think you need to check the EGR, by using a spare piece of longish vac hose.

    Idle till warm, and put a piece of vac hose on the tophat. Suck quickly on the end, it should almost stall. Do a few times, and listen for rocks rattling down the pipe. this will last a couple years, then have to do it again. If no change, it may be welded open on a rock, and will have to replace.

    EGR or no EGR?

    Vacuum test steps (with video)
     
    hygge and 89BIGBLUE like this.
  17. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    Something like this for vacuum gauge?

    Lisle 20300 Vacuum Gauge and Fuel Pump Tester https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000CODRFO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_F7ajBbRVK5DK0

    I found the digital Innova timer for $74.95.

    Amazon PRIME!!
     
    NeverGiveUpYota likes this.
  18. Hojack

    Hojack Foothills of the Cascades

    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    962
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Location:
    Eagle Creek, Oregon
    Gotta love Amazon Prime
     
    NeverGiveUpYota and hygge like this.
  19. NeverGiveUpYota

    NeverGiveUpYota Dare me. SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,647
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Location:
    East Hampton, CT
    And yes, exactly both those. ;)
     
    hygge likes this.
  20. hygge

    hygge GOLD Star

    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    34
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Location:
    San Anselmo, CA
    Both are being Primed over to me from my friends over at Amazon.

    In the meanwhile, I look forward to trying the propane vacuum test, with a friendly fire extinguisher by my side.
     
    NeverGiveUpYota likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.