Roof Rack or Tongue Rack on Off-Road Teardrop (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Folks, I am in the very early planning stages of a teardrop or grasshopper style mini camper trailer. It will be built with off-road use in mind, although I don't plan pull it up any 4-banana trails. That said, I can see getting into a scenario where I might get in a tight spot or off-camber situation either trying to back up a trail to let traffic by or squeezing around a switchback. I have no experience pulling a trailer off road and almost no experience on road (pulled a car trailer about 30 miles, never even had to back up).

I would like to make a storage rack for carrying firewood, extra cooler, bikes or whatever might need carried. The load could potentially be pretty heavy (my firewood tub weighs about 200# fully loaded).

My question is this: would I be better off building the trailer with a longer tongue and a tongue rack, or a shorter overall trailer with a roof rack? As I see it, the pro of a tongue rack would be a lower COG and the con would be a longer trailer that might be tougher to maneuver around trees, switchbacks, etc. The pro of the roof rack would be a shorter and presumably more maneuverable trailer, con being a higher COG. I figure I would need to make the trailer about 24-30" longer to accommodate a tongue rack.

Having no experience with pulling a trailer in an off-road scenario, I'm just not sure how to weigh the pros and cons. I'd love some input :D

Check out the tongue layout on some of the popular off road trailers: socal, moby, AT. They have long tongues and storage boxes, I believe the extra length makes the trailer a bit more maneuverable, and allows you to jackknife the trailer to turn around if need be. It also provides clearance for a swing out tire carrier if you've got on on your TV.