Possibly buying my first 100 and need a little help with body rust... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to Yota 4x4's. I have had Chevy's and I have a '75 Scout II. I found a '98 Cruiser (going to be family adventure wagon - wife /2 kids/dog) that was originally titled in New Jersey... I know salt belt...I had the owner send some undercarriage photos. I am having trouble distinguishing whether or not this is too much rust... I live in Charleston SC and have never had problems with rust (the Scout has some from PO driving it on the beach mainly leafs and rear drums). Anyway, I am going to post a couple of the better photos that he sent and would appreciate the input from some of you vets. Thanks in advance.

21449l4.jpg

2i7mxqc.jpg

2en0t5d.jpg

I know they aren't the best photos in the world, but they are really all I have to go on and it was like pulling teeth to get these. I have gotten him down to 7500 for it, but don't want to deal with a ton of rust repair either. It only has 120,000 miles, but very limited maintenance records. I am very iffy right now and my gut is telling me to look elsewhere for now... am I worried for nothing?

What rust? Looks pretty good. I'd jump on it quick because that's a pretty good price for the miles. 120k is nothing even for "neglected" maintainance. Unless it's been really abused, it probably would just need all fluids and filters changed, timing belt/waterpump, maybe a couple other little things, but it should be pretty solid with those miles. And remember, it's practically 20 years old and ain't gonna be prefect but she'll go the distance if you treat her right from here out.