Oil Pressure Issues in my 1983 FJ60 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So after reading around on some of the other threads I thought I would post my own just to get some opinions as I am still new to the Landcruiser life. I have a 1983 60 series with somewhere around 220k or more (odometer/speedometer cable needs replaced) on the original 2f and have owned it for about 5 months now with no issues. Just recently though, whenever I get up to highway speeds my oil pressure drops to zero according to stock gauge. The part that is weird to me is that when driving in town 1st/2nd gear at 2k-2.5k rpm oil pressure reads fine, 3rd/4th gear 2k-3k oil pressure reads low to zero. My assumption is it is the gauge or the sending unit but want some more experienced opinions. For reference I live in Durango, Colorado where temps are pretty low during the winter so I am running 10w-30 Rotella. Attached are some photos of what I described above (1st photo is highway, second photo is in town)

oil pressure 1.jpg

The past couple days when I got up to speed it has been much lower than this ^^^^ (also ignore the brake light it goes on and off randomly regardless of hand brake()
oil pressure 3.jpg

ALways, get a real gauge to measure oil pressure.

Likely, you are fine, it's a issue with a gauge that is almost as accurate as an idiot light. But it's always best to verify.