Non-mechanically inclined person looking to buy 100 series (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello!

I am new to land cruisers and I hear this is the best place to come for advice. Ive always loved LC's and I am now finally at a point where i can afford to buy one ( no longer in college and have a good job) I found a really nice 2002 LC with 160k mils one it. Its a one car owner and has all the service records. Well maintained and all the bells and whistles. Its going for 10k. The only thing is I know nothing about fixing or working on cars. Am I stupid to want a LC? Should i avoid buying one since i cant work on it myself? I dont want to buy one if im just going to dump money into it.

Any advice or knowledge will be greatly appreciated.

thanks for your time

Yes. A 20 year old LC no matter what condition it is in will need to go to a garage for work, baseline plus repairs that come up here and there. Yes the LC is a reliable and dependable vehicle but every 20 yr old car will need replacing of parts such as all the rubber parts. You will be dumping money into it and Cruiser parts aren't cheap.

For example, you'll baseline $500-1500
Timing belt - $1200
New tires - $1000
Steering rack - $1200-1500

$10k can get you some cars that are economically more sound and a decade newer. But the $10k of a Cruiser, you're buying into it's capabilities of going somewhere remote and not have to worry if it's going to break down on you, that is if it's a good conditioned LC.