Need some brake advice please (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

GTSSportCoupe

2LTE abuser
Threads
My pedal has been spongy and some days are worse than others. My calipers and brake lines are all in really good shape. But I did replace some flexible lines a while back, and have just not been able to bleed the spongy out no matter how much I try.

So, today, giving it another try, I notice huge 1/2" bubbles coming up in the reservoir as my son is pumping the pedal. Is it pretty safe to assume I have a worn out master cylinder and air is somehow being drawn in? There is no external brake fluid leaking visible anywhere around the master or inside the truck.

So, assuming it is a leaking master cylinder issue: the sub assembly is no longer available. Seems the best I can do is a 'cylinder kit'. Any of you bought one of these and done a DIY rebuild? Success?

0449360230.jpg

I've only tried it once and it wasn't really worth the effort.

Toyota MC's are all really similar, so I'd be surprised if one of the generic types didn't work for you. There's really only bolt pattern and bore size.

MC39996 is a raybestos number that crosses over to a bunch of trucks. 4runner or 80 depending.

TOYOTA4RUNNER1989-1993
TOYOTALAND CRUISER1993-1994
TOYOTAPICKUP1989-1993
TOYOTAT1001993

I had to buy a different one because I didn't have a reservoir.

I think this is the one I bought this one for my 60. Details are a bit murky, I don't remember which I put in the 40 and which in the 60 :lol:

Advics is Aisin I gather, so pretty much same as buying toyota. Nice firm pedal, stops as well as disc/drums can I guess.

I replaced my master with one from 80 series on advice of JBarron. It's same bolt pattern and just bolts on.
Only thing is to make sure you get the rod length right so it's perfect tension. I think it would be a matter of