Multimeters (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I don't know an amp from a volt from an ohm from a watt, but I apparently need a multimeter for some of the diagnostic work on my 80. A search on the site seems to suggest I should buy a Fluke.

Any advice on what I should get? I want to have the features I need, but not so many I don't need that I never figure out how to use it.

Thanks

Fluke is a very good brand, high end, well made. If I was a pro doing electrical work all the time, I'd have one. I don't think they make one for less than $100, but they go way up from there.

For occasional use, the Craftsman meters are fine. I have a $20 one that I carry with me in my truck box, it's done everything I've needed so far. I also have a higher end one that I keep at home, too expensive to possible lose or destroy in a box of trail tools.

Get one that will measure at least 10A of current in DC mode, and temperature measurement is also really handy, if you get the probe for it. An audio continuity feature is really useful too.

best option to have is a continuity tone. When looking for an open in a circuit it's nice to be able to hear the meter instead of needing to look at it.

For your application, the cheaper the better. I actually have an analog (sweep) meter because they are better at seeing bad contacts in switches and relays and display faster than the auto ranging ones.

I have a craftsman digital and an OLD semi-generic el cheap-o analog sweep. I calibrate the sweep with the digital then use the old POS one.