More FZJ80 Brake Troubleshooting... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm a relatively new 96' FZJ80 owner and it's my first post here so excuse please excuse me being a complete novice.

My brakes went spongy/soft suddenly at a stoplight, and if I pump a couple times they firm up (not always), but it doesn't hold and the pedal just slowly sinks to the floor. I know this a broken record issue, but I've read of everything on here about the spongy/soft brake issue on FZJ80's and taken the suggested steps - here was my process of unsuccessfully fixing the issue:

1. Inspected all brake lines around calipers. No bulging, no leaking detected whatsoever.
2. Flushed old brake fluid and bled all lines (single person method with hose submerged in fluid) with new Dot 3 in this order: Rear PS, Rear DS, LSPV, Front PS, Front DS.
3. Replaced master cylinder with a remanufactured unit from O'Reillys, bench bled and then repeated bleeding all lines in the same order as above (this time bled with 2-person method).
4. Replaced brake booster, with OEM Toyota booster, flushed all fluid from master cylinder again, bench bled and then repeated bleeding all lines in the same order as above (2-person method).

Please can someone offer some suggestions of what I'm missing or what on earth is going on?

Thank you!

I had the same problem and I replaced everything you did as well as added new calipers all the way around. The only way I got really good results was to delete the ABS and the LSPV. My brakes are tight now.

Frozen caliper? Or dreaded bad abs

Last edited:
Frozen caliper? Or dreaded bad abs
Would one frozen caliper cause all the whole system to malfunction? I've had frozen calipers on other cars before, but never had the spongy/soft brake issue along with it.
I'm looking further into the ABS...