Moab Trip Planning: Help Needed! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Dirt J

SILVER Star
Threads
I'm planning a trip "out West" to Moab for my 40th birthday next year and could use some help with logistics from those who've been before. I've read about Moab in Four Wheeler magazine since middle school and have always wanted to go, so I've decided to make it happen in 2022!

For background, I have 25+ years of experience riding dirt bikes and ATVs in the mud and woods in the Southeast. I also had a TJ Rubicon a while back that I took off road a few times. But I haven't been on an organized group trail ride or wheeled my new-to-me LC daily driver...no slick rock experience.

I happened upon info about the Cruise Moab event but work may conflict with that, so may have to be later in the year.

So, with all that being said, I'm planning to bring my two closest friends and my son. I had the idea of trailering my Honda Pioneer 700 for two of them to use as a "camera car" and to make the trip more enjoyable for them, so they aren't just passengers the whole time.

Based on reading and discussion with an acquaintance that has ran trails there, I'd like to hit Fins, Hell's Revenge, and maybe Golden Spike (not sure my rig is up to snuff). It's my understanding all the trails are one-way, and there are bypasses on some obstacles. Is bringing the UTV a good idea? Will leaving a small trailer at the trail head be OK? I've read that un-registered UTVs are not allowed on the primary roads, so trying to think through how to "portage" the UTV at trail end.

I haven't gotten into lodging, etc. yet...

Thanks all for any advice/insight/opinions! I'm really excited about the trip!

Hells revenge not one way but typically run from the main parking to back outside the sands flat, I have ran into people doing it backwards