LX450 (FJ80 series) dashboard cluster, power windows, sunroof not functioning

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by Triple E, Oct 21, 2018.

  1. Triple E

    Triple E

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Location:
    Tucson
    Hello everyone,
    So I was working on installing a stereo to my 1997 LX450 but I was not able to complete the task. I reinstalled the OEM stereo back and had it working but then I realized that it started to rain and wanted to raise the windows. The windows weren’t working, none of my windows were working not even the sunroof. I also noticed that the warning indicators on dashboard weren’t lit? However the LX450 would turn on but then I also noticed that the dashboard gauges weren’t working either. No alternator, temperature, Oil (but that is usually low to begin with), the park, reverse etc weren’t lit like normal. So what turned out to be a simple stereo swap turned into a can of worms. I checked all the fuses (underneath the steering wheel and engine compartment) with a DMM didn’t notice a problem with the fuses. Can someone provide me some direction to resolve my dilemma? I’m hoping someone has come across something like this before.
    Thanks,
    Triple E
     
  2. voorland80

    voorland80

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    the CV; miss the CZ
    Don't recall which one but double-check that ALL connectors are plugged in firm and secure behind center dash panel.
     
  3. Michael Hanson

    Michael Hanson

    Messages:
    8,739
    Media:
    9
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    320
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Plano texas
    Hi, Did you disconnect battery when doing the work ? Did one of the fuseable links not get hooked back up ? Mike
     
  4. jonheld

    jonheld

    Messages:
    7,610
    Likes Received:
    2,495
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Fusible link AM1.
    Look at section H-"Power source" in your FSM.
     
  5. Triple E

    Triple E

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Location:
    Tucson
    I wasn't smart enough to remember to disconnect the battery. I didn't mess with any fusible links that I can remember.
     
  6. Triple E

    Triple E

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Location:
    Tucson
    AM1 works with All components in “CIG”, “WIPER”, “GAUGE”, “TURN”, “ECU-IG”, “REAR-HTR”, “IGN”, “DIFF” and “FL POWER” circuits.
    I didn't think it was AH1 because I had power to the wiper, CIG, Rear heater. Regardless, I will check.
     
  7. jonheld

    jonheld

    Messages:
    7,610
    Likes Received:
    2,495
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Your first post said that GAUGES and power windows were not working. The common between these 2 is fusible link AM1. That is the most logical place to start.
     
    BILT4ME likes this.
  8. BILT4ME

    BILT4ME

    Messages:
    6,028
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8,021
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Olathe, KS, USA
    Should he check his ground on the ignitor? :rofl::rofl::rofl::flipoff2::deadhorse:
     
    jonheld likes this.
  9. jonheld

    jonheld

    Messages:
    7,610
    Likes Received:
    2,495
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Only if his tires are low.
     
    BILT4ME likes this.
  10. Triple E

    Triple E

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Location:
    Tucson
    Yep, the dashboard gauges and the windows weren't working . I will test link AM1 for continuity once I'm back at home.
     
  11. Triple E

    Triple E

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Location:
    Tucson
    I tested the AM1 fuse it was good. Don’t know where to go from here?
     
  12. Tools R Us

    Tools R Us

    Messages:
    23,593
    Likes Received:
    5,312
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Gauge fuse good?
     
  13. Triple E

    Triple E

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Location:
    Tucson
    what fuse is the gauge? I thought it was AM1? This is starting to be a real pain.
     
  14. Tools R Us

    Tools R Us

    Messages:
    23,593
    Likes Received:
    5,312
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Look at the fuse cover, it's the one marked Gauge.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.