In the Market for a Warn Winch, Questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.hrodesign.com
I'm new to buying winches and I've never bought one before. Everyone that I have talked to has told me to buy Warn. I haven't necessarily narrowed my search to Warn but I figured I would start there. I have $1,000 to spend but ideally I wouldn't spend the whole amount so that I can buy some other winching accessories (snatch block, tree strap, etc...). I can spend more if it's truly worth it but again, I don't plan on using it all that much but like you all, want to have the confidence in it when I have to. I also figured I would try and stick with synthetic rope and shoot for 8,000 to 10,000 lbs. pull capacity. I have a somewhat modified `98 100-series LC. I'm about to put a aftermarket front bumper on it, hence the reason for this purchase.

I narrowed my search to either of these 3 options:
Warn 89305 Zeon 8-S Winch ($1,149.99 Amazon, Considered their Premium Series)
Warn M8000-S ($826.23 Amazon, Considered their Premium Series)
Warn 87840 VR1000-S ($849.99 Amazon, Considered their Entry Level Series)

So if you were me what would you consider? What is the difference? Thanks for any insight on this.

Look at come up as well. And the VR series is made in china.

I would look for one that has seals to prevent water intrusion. Many do not. I have an older Warn M12000 that I rebuilt and was disappointed to find No seals whatsoever. Any longer than a short dunking and a complete disassembly is needed to clean it out (which on my 100 with an ARB requires removing the bumper and winch together....mucho work).

Go for the VR 10,000 recently purchased one for my 96 Lx450! Amazing winch, Ive already winched out a F-350 on 35" tires. I got the Synthetic line also. *Excellent quality* It is a WARN

IMG_2063.PNG