General Desmog/Cityracer carb questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I'm in the process of doing a desmog and cityracer carb and had a couple questions that I'm sure are out there, but it's difficult to find a straight answer with the multitude of different desmogs out there.

For the CR carb, with just the port for the vacuum advance, does that mean; the remaining BVSV essentially gets deleted, and the driver VCV gets rerouted to the gas filter? And the fuel cut vacuum switch just goes way of the dodo as well?

Also, thoughts on how my routing is looking? I'm no rocket scientist, but I think I've got most of it going in the right directions. Not running a/c so no idle up, no elevation so no HAC, and I liked this intake so I'm considering ditching the HAI to run it, but I've read mixed remarks on if that's a good idea. (Don't mind the sketchy plugs, caps are on the way)

Thanks!

300F8840-FF26-4D22-A53C-2808393C2261.jpeg
41E23889-5F59-46EF-BFD4-043C8D08955B.jpeg

When is the last time the poor baby has had a valve adjustment? There is supposed to be a rubber seal between that air filter horn and the top of the carburetor.

I think you want to keep the #1 bvsv...the top one. And run your advancer port line from the carb to it. then over to the dizzy advance. But you could "T" in the line from the EVAP VCV ...line X ...run it over to the other side of the motor and T it in after the BVSV. That way you don't advance and your EVAP system doesn't come on until you're up to temp.

Which port you attach to on the vacuum advance depends on if your dizzy had been modified or not.

Not sure about the fuel cut vacuum switch....someone else should chime in.

When is the last time the poor baby has had a valve adjustment? There is supposed to be a rubber seal between that air filter horn and the top of the carburetor.