FJ62 Rear Diff leaking (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to wrenching in general and super new to my Cruiser. I am the 3rd owner. I found it for what I thought was a steal and figured it would be a good truck to learn on. Unfortunately, I think the first two projects that need to be done seem to be above the basic level I have right now. The rear diff seems to be leaking (see attached) and it looks like it is the front part. My Toyota manual says I need a bunch of Special Service tools (SST) to get the oil slip and oil ring out and replaced. The tools look to be ~$200-250 to buy. I can't imagine I will have to replace these that often, as this is the first time in 30 years this tank of a car has needed this.

So my question is: can I replace these on my own in the driveway without the SSTs? or is it worth it to just buy the tools? or pay the mechanic (who says it is 4 hours work @$115/hour)? If anyone is in the Houston area and wants to come help me wrench for fun... ;)

IMG_20160409_130057468.jpg

I'll make some assumptions and tell you what I would do.

I assume you have >150k miles and gear lube change history is not known.

Your pinion seal is bad. In and of itself, that isn't so bad, but in almost all cases, it means the pinion bearing has worn, lost pre-load and is on the way out too. To fix that is a big deal because the diff needs to be rebuilt.