Driving across the US

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am going out to Tennessee to pick up an 85 mini that has been setting for about 5 years and drive it out to Arizona. It needs a fuel pump and I am going to do a tune up. What else would you guys suggest I change and/or carry with me. I am new to the 22re what should carry along that I could replace along the way in case of a break down.

all fluids, fuel filter, hoeses belts, duct tape, wire, water, rags, j.b. weld, tools, bailing wire, fix a flat & plugs, spair tire, jack, another fuel filter, carb cleaner.....

I am going out to Tennessee to pick up an 85 mini that has been setting for about 5 years and drive it out to Arizona. It needs a fuel pump and I am going to do a tune up. What else would you guys suggest I change and/or carry with me. I am new to the 22re what should carry along that I could replace along the way in case of a break down.
Howdy! Take lots of cash!! A 23 year old truck can be full of surprises. I have one. The fuel pump is electric, in tank. The fuel filter is a Royal Pain to swap out, as it is bolted up onto the block under the intake manifold. I have replaced the front main seal on the crank twice; used a speedy sleeve the second time. It still weeps and drips a litte, but not bad. If it has the "auto locking hubs" be sure they are spinning free, and not dragging the front driveshaft. These engines can last forever, but they seem to last a lot longer if you keep it under 3000 - 3500 rpm. If the truck has been parked for 5 years, then the tires are probably 10 years old. Look them over really good before you put 2000 miles on the freeway with them.
Post up when you get it back here. Maybe some Pix too? John

A couple buckets of luck.... :D Check/change all the fluids, and what they said...

"Trucks break down weather you drive them or not" Don't forget that. Might want a new rad cap too....