1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Console cooler

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by pbuschbeck, Feb 26, 2007.

1. pbuschbeck

pbuschbeck

I am new to my '92 FJ80, and am having a problem with the center console cooler.
    The a/c works fine, but there is no way I can make the cooler to work. I t just keeps blowing hot air, in either the cool or ice position

Is there a separate system for this or it runs on the same as the car a/c?
    How do I make it to work. I know the car a/c must be working for it to work, so that is not the problem.

All help is welcome

Peter Buschbeck

2. antor

antor

I dont think that is a rear cooler,it is the rear passenger heater only.
    high or low heat only on mine, its a 95 though.

3. loquito

loquito

There is a center console cooler that you put drinks into and it acts like a fridge, This is not what you are talking about though, right.
    If you are talking about the center vents on the dash I do not rememnber them having there own control on my 91.

4. pbuschbeck

pbuschbeck

Yes I am talking of the fridge, but I cant get it to work right

5. TomH

TomH SILVER Star

We were not fortunate enough to get rear air or cool boxes here in the U.S. so there isn't a ton of knowledge on how the systems work. In this thread, mot posted some schematic that may help you. The whole system (ac, rear ac, and cool box) should be tied together so if one works, they should all work - I think.

Tom

6. pbuschbeck

pbuschbeck

They should, and I guessed so, but each part apparently has an independent condenser or air partitioner or something.
    I think this because there are independent controls for the front and the rear systems, as well as a selector in the fridge for cool or ice maker.

It doesn't inhibits me to go offroading with a bad fridge, but would be nice to have it ok.