Comms group buy (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Phulcrum

Supporting Vendor
Threads
Whos interested in either a Midland or rugged radio gmrs group buy? I have contacts that can get us either. I'm hoping as a club we can eventually all switch to these ( as a replacement to the cb NOT the Ham).

I might be.

...boafeng.... on gmrs...

Tell me more about this? I'm a radio noob.

Cb radio is limited to 5w output max and is on a crappy frequency. Gmrs is on a crappy frequency but of you buy the license you can output 70w max ( or maybe 50?) . I've heard a lot of good things from other groups regard gmrs. Some groups are requiring them for trail runs.
There's my explanation, please excuse the verbal diarrhea.

How does gmrs differ from ham? Different frequency?

I might be interested if it's GMRS and going to happen soon. Thanks for asking.

Cb radio is limited to 5w output max and is on a crappy frequency. Gmrs is on a crappy frequency but of you buy the license you can output 70w max ( or maybe 50?) . I've heard a lot of good things from other groups regard gmrs. Some groups are requiring them for trail runs.
There's my explanation, please excuse the verbal diarrhea.
I'll see your diarrhea and raise you, three rolls of tp...
For GMRS 50W is the limit on the upper channels, 5W on others, 0.5W on others yet... Like FRS, GMRS is at UHF frequencies it is very 'line of sight'; so not terrain friendly.